Trump's special envoy Steve Witkoff reported $107 million from the company that held his World Liberty stake

Steve Witkoff, Trump's special envoy, reported $107 million of 2025 income from the holding company that owned his stake in the Trump family's crypto venture.

What happened

President Donald Trump's special envoy Steve Witkoff earned $107 million in 2025 from the holding company that owned his share of a crypto venture he and his boss helped co-found, according to a recent financial disclosure report. The report does not separate the venture's share: Witkoff did not report the value and income from underlying assets of his holding companies, so the document does not specify how much he earned from World Liberty Financial LLC. He reported pulling in nearly $107 million from Witkoff Holdings LLC, which has dozens of entities, including his stake in World Liberty; the entity also includes resorts, golf and hotel management businesses, and residential real estate. The Witkoff and Trump families founded the crypto business, World Liberty Financial, in the run-up to the 2024 election, and although World Liberty has said Witkoff was not involved in the company's operations in 2025, he continued to own a financial stake until divesting it early in 2026. An investment firm tied to the United Arab Emirates bought nearly half of the company in 2025, and Witkoff has met with Sheikh Tahnoon bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the U.A.E.'s national security adviser who backed the investment in World Liberty. In a statement, Anna Kelly, a White House spokeswoman, said Witkoff had “fully divested from World Liberty Financial, and his prior commercial activities are completely unrelated to his efforts to end global conflicts on the president’s behalf.” David Warrington, who served as White House counsel until September 2026, told Bloomberg News in May that Witkoff divested from World Liberty Financial and does not participate in official matters that could affect his financial interests. The figure is Witkoff Holdings LLC's whole-year total across dozens of entities and the filing gives no breakout for World Liberty, so it is logged and not counted toward the take. The date on this row is the date of the earliest cited report, 2026-09-08; the filing was made in July 2026 and the day the White House released it is not stated on any page read.

Why it matters

A man negotiating for the president took nine-figure income from a company holding a stake in the family's crypto venture, whose 49% buyer is a firm backed by the United Arab Emirates' national security adviser. The filing does not say how much of the $107 million came from World Liberty. The White House says he has divested and stays out of matters that touch his finances.

Sources

Bloomberg, nytimes.com